Looking at several sets of wheels, guidance/explanation appreciated

Tyler Smith

Sep 3, 2016
PA
Hey guys,

Thanks to those who helped with my original bike dilemma. Now I am looking at whether wheels in my budget will help me with my goals.

I currently have Bontrager Race wheels that came on the Trek 4.5 Madone (and others I assume). With 25% at Nashbar for wheels and tires today I am thinking about buying another set to help with flat speed. My bike is not very light and I am not worrying a lot about it since I'm still losing weight from myself first haha. But this has me leaning more toward a cheap aero wheel such as the Vuelta 37mm. I weigh 173lbs currently and should continue to drop into the low 160s, so I don't think I need crazy sturdy wheels, but I am still learning here.

Any advice or information on whether wheels like this will actually improve my flat speed is appreciated. Thanks!

Some additional info (encase it is helpful):
I started cycling 2 months ago and have improved from ~16.5mph to ~17.5mph over 5-20 mile rides. I rarely get the chance to go much further, but really enjoy challenging myself on the Strava segments near me.

For the money they are a really good value. The aero profile isn't some high zoot elipsoid toroidal golf ball dimpled 3D CAD designed piece of space technology that was tested by elite big paycheck racers in the San Berdoo wind tunnel. For $100+...who cares?

These will carry your weight. No sweat there.

With J-head spokes you may or may not end up breaking a couple, but replacements are cheap and easily sourced.

2000 grams isn't really 'light' either, but the tradeoff is a little more durability for that slower spin-up. Again, maybe not a deal breaker at all...for the money and all the positive reviews it would be worth getting the CC out and trying them IMO.

Reactions: Tyler Smith