On the horns of a dilemma.

Goose5

Mar 4, 2009
For my 60th birthday I promised myself a new bike. I've been riding a Cannondale Synapse 58cm for the last ten years and like it very much. My local LBS has scored on some new/old/blem framesets. First of all I'm not clear on the sizes. They have a Look 795 blade RS both in large and Xlarge. ($2,000) and a Parlee Altium XL only($1,300.) Cost wise its going to be a wash since the Parlee is disc brake only, and the Look I can get in rim brake. At these prices I'm not going to be able to resist. Help with size? I'm 6 foot even. Which would fit me best. I'm not a racer just fitness/hobby rider.

I don’t think XL would be a wise choice at your height. I’m your size and I alternate between M and L.
Take some measurements off your existing bike, bring your cheat sheet and a measuring tape to the dealer and compare fit.

I think it depends on the bike itself, the style, geo etc.

I am 6'1 and ride a 58 Cannondale but a straight top tube style CAD3. I rode it for years with 110 mm stem. I had to replace the 130 right after the very first 45 miler, felt like I was being stretched on a torture rack. Now I have an even shorter stem higher up to get real comfy. So maybe I could have used a 56 but felt too small for me as far as seat height. I was told by a tailor who made some mods on a suit coat, that I had short arms for my height. Hey, I am not a gorilla with arms to my knees ha ha!

But then I have had a Trek roadie back in 1996 and a Madone from 2014 that are size 58 and fit like a glove right out of the box with the stock stem, maybe a 120 if I recall correctly. But a big difference in comfort right out of the box between the two.

My suggestion is to take the bikes for a test ride and see which fits better.

At 6'1, a 58 Cannondale works for me with stem mods. Seat height is perfect. But a Trek Madone is perfect out of the box with the stock stem. So a bike can be labeled as the same size but different in fit.