Interested in helping an MIT student design ultimate rear bike light?

pekap

Apr 5, 2013
Hi Everyone,

I'm a graduate student at MIT taking an entrepreneurship class. I'm working with a local Cambridge start-up and we're working on a new rear bike light. It will be anti-theft and very cool designed (in "afterburners" style). We talked with a lot of customer trying to undesrstand how ultimate rear bike light should look like. And currently we are trying to decide upon 2 things:

1. metal housing VS. plastic housing (both of course with high quality material) . The trade-off here is about price premium - how much more are you honestly ready to pay for metal housing?
2. flashing patterns and how to control them - how many buttons, blinking options and which blinking options are the best. The trade-off here is about easiness of usage vs. bunch of blinking options.

We would love to hear what you think about this. It would be great if you could specify how much more are you ready to pay for metal housing and if you could tell what are the best blinking options.
I appreciate any feedback that I can get. So excited to hear from you,guys!

Regards,
Petr