Efficient bike buying guide

Kaiserstreet13

Mar 22, 2013
I'm a College student. I just came from AD military over to Reserve component to become an officer and what not. Anyway, I have no real income at the moment, except what the military pays me to cover my tuition and some monthly money. My favorite thing in the world is biking. However, my whole life i've been around mountains and I've always enjoyed mountain biking. So I have like 3 different types of Mountain Bikes. Stationed here, turns out there are no mountains in Florida, so I really want to get into road biking, which I've always been fond of.

long story short: I have no road bike and I can't afford a nice road bike now. If i had the money i'd gladly lay down a thousand dollars for a beginner road bike till I got competitive, lay down some more. Any tips for what I can do, and what kind of bikes are good bikes below 700$, or ways how people get bikes and I guess either pay them over time, or idk, I'd just rather get started sooner than later.

Most bang for your buck will probably be to buy used, be it from a bike shop, off Craigslist, eBay or the local classifieds. Of course, test-riding is important once you determine that the bike is, or can be made to be, an appropriate fit for you.

Thanks for your service, and I hope you find something that works out for you.

Originally Posted by Kaiserstreet13 .

Any tips for what I can do, and what kind of bikes are good bikes below 700$, or ways how people get bikes and I guess either pay them over time, or idk, I'd just rather get started sooner than later.
If you do not find a suitable bike on Craigslist OR eBay, then to state what may be obvious, there are narrower "city" slicks which can be used on most MTB wheels ...

• you will need new tubes for the narrower tires, of course.

If your bike has disc brakes, then you can install 700c wheels which are laced to disc hubs with a MTB frame ...