Do You Prefer To Cycle In Groups Or Alone?

sunshiney

Aug 19, 2015
Toronto
I always used to cycle alone, using it as a time to gather my thoughts and relax a bit.
Once I started riding with a group though I started having a lot more fun.
Originally we just started as a mountain biking group but once we all had road bikes we started taking longer rides through the farmland to the next town over and stopping for lunch before coming home.
Now, I always prefer riding with a group. It's fun to have people to share the experience with and particularly with mountain biking, it feel way safer to have more people along.
It's also nice to be with the group in case of any emergency repairs that need to be done, especially for someone like me who's still learning to patch a tire and fix my chains.
Between the six of us we've also been able to search out some really great trails, as well as working on a few of our own!
Do you typically prefer biking with a group as well, or do you have a better time alone?

Generally, I prefer to cycle alone. When I cycle with other people, yes, it's a more social experience, but I often am paranoid about whether or not I am going too fast or too slow, whether I will hit someone, etc. It can be very fun and competitive to cycle with others, but if I have the choice, I will cycle alone.

Reactions: Bicycleman
I like both but for different reasons.
I find riding alone more relaxing, I can go where I want and do what I want.

If you want to progress and push yourself, nothing is better than riding in a group. Finding people who are better then you can really up your game.